Before I start into the never-ending pile of laundry and housework, I must share with you about the ladies night we had at our church last evening.

Organised by our Pastor’s wife (Mummymac at Home but not alone), we had an informal evening of fellowship, which involved someone giving their testimony, book reviews from our ‘Reading Roundabout’, a discussion about the books we had read over the past year, some entertainment:0)(!!) and a lovely supper afterwards.

Basically a ‘Reading Roundabout’ is a collection of (in our case) about 12 books to which each person involved is allocated one book per month. She then must pass it on to the next person on the list, and they pass it on the next month until 12 books have been covered in a year.
It’s a fantastic way of reading literature which one normally wouldn’t choose to read.
This month, being the first of a new year of ‘RR’ I have been given Hudson Taylor and Maria, A Match made in Heaven by John Pollock, which I am greatly looking forward to reading as I love historical/biographical literature.

I will make an aim, (I’m blogging it so I can’t excuse myself too often!) to review each book here as I read them! Baby is due in November, so I’m not promising myself, however, as I say, I AIM to do so. I will appreciate comments from others who have read the books and perhaps would like some input!

Anyway, enough rambling. Thanks to Mummymac for organising it and I hope we’ll have many more blessed nights of fellowship again.

Blest be the tie that binds
Our hearts in Christian love
The fellowship of kindred minds
Is like to that above.
(John Fawcett, 1740-1817)

N

