Bacon and Bean Pie

This is an old recipe I made at school and its very frugal and tasty too! A nice filling family meal. I like to serve it with Runner beans or another green vegetable.

Preheat oven to 180 deg celcius.

For the filling :-

1 pack of smoked bacon

1 onion chopped

1 tin baked beans

 1 oxo cube (or bovril)

2 teaspoons dried mixed herbs

really good big squirt of tomato ketchup (Oh what would we do without it!?)

1/2 mug of water

For the topping:-

6 good sized potatoes – peel, boil and mash these with a knob of butter

grated cheddar cheese

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Fry chopped onion in a little oil and cut up bacon into small pieces and add also. Continue to fry for a few minutes.

Add beans, crumble in oxo cube, herbs, ketchup and water and stir.

Add lovely steaming mashed potato and sprinkle over grated cheese.

Put into oven until topping is golden.

********************************

N

P.S.  This has got to be the most wonderful family-oriented cook book I have found! I purchased it with the intention of saving more money on the grocery bill. There are many great recipes inside all of which seem very cheap and tasty. Now, I haven’t tried many of them as yet, however what I have tried has been very good indeed. I even made scones for the first time without them being a ‘flop’ using the ‘Cheese and Courgette’ scone recipe! I’ll let you into a little secret….the ONLINE VERSION!

howtofeedyourfamilybook.jpg

